#TTAFChat

The Travel And Food Chat

If you’re a travel or food (or both) enthusiast, you should join us every Monday at 8pm UAE time on Twitter, to be a part of #TTAFChat or The Travel And Food Chat, which is the first of its kind in the Middle East.
Twitter users from around the world share their travel and food stories every Monday and the best part is, you don’t necessarily have to be a blogger to join this discussion.

How it all began
As most of you are aware, Food She Blogged is primarily a food and food safety blog.
Gradually over time, I had crossed paths with other enterprising food and travel bloggers and it occurred to me that both verticals of the blogosphere don’t seem to interact a lot with each other during meet ups or events here in the Middle East.
I had made an attempt to build a tiny bridge between the two to get the best of both worlds. Besides, one cannot function well without the other and the lines that separate travel and food are quite blurry, if you take a closer look. My fabulous co-hosts Jen Sahi  and Jay have definitely added colour to this weekly Twitter event.

Jen Sahi is a passionate foodie who is also an ardent traveler whilst Jay is a seasoned chef based in Canada who possesses some Jedi barbecue skills. Please sign up for their updates though I cannot guarantee that it won’t build your appetite.

Our first Twitter chat went live in April 2015  with then co-host Grace who had to retire early.
Since its launch, we have been overwhelmed by the response and it has been an interesting learning curve. We look forward to having you with us.

How do I participate in #TTAFchat?
If you’re new to participating in a live discussion on Twitter (also known as the Twitter chat), worry not. You can easily be a part of the conversation in real time simply by following the tag #TTAFchat on Twitter. However, it might take a while for the most recent tweets to load as multiple users would be engaged in the discussion. It’s advisable to participate by following #TTAFchat on TweetDeck  and remember to end each tweet with #TTAFChat so that everyone else can view your tweet. Needless to say, you would have to be a Twitter user to join in the fun.

#TTAFchat usually lasts for an hour and your hosts would be taking turns to shoot out questions. Your response would have to correlate with the question number. To illustrate with an example:

Q1: What’s your dream destination? #TTAFChat
To answer this question, you should Tweet in this format:
A1: My dream destination is … #TTAFChat

#TTAFChat happens every Monday on Twitter at these times:

8 pm UAE
7 pm Qatar
9.30 pm India
5 pm UK
6 pm Italy
12 pm US and Canada EDT (or 11 ET depending on daylight savings)
9 am US and Canada PDT (or 8 PT depending on daylight savings)
6 pm South Africa

What kind of subjects do you cover during #TTAFchat?
Being a fun discussion, we like to keep it simple.
Our topics vary from travel ideas to dining experiences with tips and pictures being exchanged by users from around the world.

The topic will be posted prior to the session on our Facebook page. You’re more than welcome to join the #TTAFChat community, share your posts and pictures with us as well as recommend subjects or post questions for future chats. It is what it is thanks to participants like you.
Alternatively, you may give us a shout on @ttafchat on Twitter.
Milestones
We are ever so grateful to our participants for having witnessed AND been a part of #TTAFChat as a trending subject, twice in the United Arab Emirates. What you see below would not have been possible without you.
#TTAFChat has trended 4 times in the United Arab Emirates already since it’s launch in early 2015.
TTAFchat trends UAE

TTAFchat trends UAE 2nd time 1st June

 

Thank you for being a part of this growing community of travel and food enthusiasts. We look forward to having you with us again, along with your friends.

Comestible regards,
Judy Sebastian